RSS

We rise!

02 Oct

Hello, and welcome to October, meine freunde!

Operation m2e will slowly awaken in the course of this month, and the plan will be finalized.

There are a few questions left that must be answered to carry on.

Kaylyn:
Do we share a room, or do you want a room of your own?
Can you pay for your own hotel room, if we only get enough for the plane tickets (non-issue if we share the room)?
Do you prefer arriving earlier than the con, or leaving later (the current plan is kinda both)?
Do we sleep in Frankfurt (bigger city) before and after the con, or do we stay at Kassel (place of con)?
Do we visit the Oktoberfest (a few days) after the con?
What could we a good way of rewarding the people contributing?
Matzevolt, MasterOtenko:
Are you planning on staying with Kaylyn for the complete length of her stay?
Do we share a room, or do you want a room of your own?
Which place in Frankfurt and Kassel would be most efficient to stay at (if we need quality wifi)?
What could we a good way of rewarding the people contributing?
Please answer in the comment section. Feel free to comment on and discuss all the questions. ๐Ÿ™‚
 
8 Comments

Posted by on 2011/10/02 in Basics

 

8 responses to “We rise!

  1. Matthias Woltmann

    2011/10/02 at 10:54

    For me it is a little tough to say in which way I can contribute. I finish my school in May next year and I might move to a new town and continue my education (for now it looks like it’ll be Nuremberg, but nothing is final). I can of course give advice about Frankfurt and Kassel, I don’t yet know if I can be there the whole time though.

    My favorite hotel in Frankfurt: http://www.bestwestern.de/hotels/Frankfurt-am-Main/BEST-WESTERN-Imperial-Hotel-am-Palmengarten

    Yes, it is an evil chain hotel, I know. BUT it’s really clean and nice, you have as far as I know free Wi-Fi everywhere and my favorite attraction of Frankfurt, the Palmengarten, is about 4 minutes by foot away. And it’s cheap, I’ve booked double rooms for 39 Euros, but more common is around 50.

    For things in Frankfurt I wouldn’t need a room, i would just take a train for about an hour. If I can be there for you in Kassel as well, I’d be fine with a shared room. Kassel is a little trickier to get to by train.

    A good reward system would be a mention in a video (in the end credits maybe, as special thanks) or we could design T-shirts (“I helped MarzGurl in Germany and all I got was this lousy t-shirt”, that’s just the first shitty idea I have, there’s more where that came from ๐Ÿ˜› ).

     
  2. MasterOtenko

    2011/10/02 at 18:12

    1. In Kassel: If she will be in the same hotel (Ramada) as the gophers – Yes. (I’ll be in Kassel on Thursday)
    2. My room is determined by the con organization – so we’ll see.
    3. Kassel: Intercity Hotel at the trainstation Wilhelmshรถhe. (note: It is also the world famous documenta at the same time in Kassel, so prices coud be 25% above average)
    4. T-Shirt.

    Additional Note: Connichi’12 (Sep 7 – Sep 9) Oktoberfest’12 (Sep 22 – Okt 7)
    Additional Note 2: The date for the AniNite 2012 is not set yet.

     
  3. 3llense'g

    2011/10/03 at 07:13

    I was planning T-shirts for the people helping me (ie you) anyway, I guess it will be even cheaper if I order in bulk. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Dang, Oktoberfest is hella far away, I guess we skip it this time. :-/

    Re: documenta: So if we stay most of the week in Frankfurt, we might come out cheaper than staying the whole week in Kassel?

     
  4. MasterOtenko

    2011/10/03 at 16:42

    Nope – because FF/M is the most expensive town of Germany. Even staying a whole week in Munich while Oktoberfest is cheaper. The only problem is to find a hotel nearby the Congress Palais in Kassel while the documenta.

    However the “Hercules” should be on the “places to show Marz”-list.

     
    • 3llense'g

      2011/10/03 at 20:29

      The Hercules stuff might be enough for half a day, and we’re staying a week. Would taking the train to and from Frankfurt every day be feasible?

      PS: You can use the German forms of the town names, it’d be easier for me I think. ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  5. MasterOtenko

    2011/10/03 at 23:03

    FF/M to KS is 2-3 hrs via light rail traffic. The “Hessenticket” costs 31โ‚ฌ/Day and allows you to use all light rail traffic in Hessen for one day. (RB/RE/S)

    (Reminder: FF/M is at the south end of Hessen, while KS is at the north end)

     
  6. 3llense'g

    2011/10/06 at 09:48

    How about Plan Q65R: We get rooms in Kassel and every day that’s not the con is spent at a different town! ๐Ÿ˜€ Frankfurt (1:30), Hannover (1:30), Hamburg (2:00) seem to be the bigger cities around. Then there’s Fulda (0:30) and a million other smaller towns. How about that? ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  7. marzgurl

    2011/10/06 at 22:20

    Sorry for the delayed response. Here:

    Do we share a room, or do you want a room of your own? – It will depend on how much money I have, which hinges on the following question. If I can afford my own room I’ll probably want that, but heck, I’m all for everybody saving money, so if my finances aren’t in place in time, I’m cool with sharing with a couple people.

    Can you pay for your own hotel room, if we only get enough for the plane tickets (non-issue if we share the room)? – In follow-up to my answer to that last question, what kind of rooming are we looking at here? I’ve stayed in some really nice hostels in Japan and such, so I don’t care about how much room I sleep in, just that there’s a warm bed and the door locks (and the place and where the place is located isn’t shady). I’ve been able to afford a couple of days of decent hotels on my own for bigger events here in the States, of course that’s only for a couple days at a time. If I can get an idea of where I’m staying and what the cost is, I’ll be able to give you a better answer.

    Do you prefer arriving earlier than the con, or leaving later (the current plan is kinda both)? – A couple days before-hand to get my bearings straight would be nice, maybe do a couple cool local things, and a couple days afterward for my otherwise goofy tourism is just fine. I think that’d be most comfortable.

    Do we sleep in Frankfurt (bigger city) before and after the con, or do we stay at Kassel (place of con)? – I’d say pre-con, stay in Kassel. That way nobody has to do any rushing to get to the con, since that seems to be the most structured part of the trip. Then there’s no huge rush to do anything afterward.

    Do we visit the Oktoberfest (a few days) after the con? – I’m sure I can just look it up, but how many days afterward is it? That would probably dictate the answer to the previous question as to whether or not I arrive a few days before the con or not, huh? I’d be interested in going, but only if there’s more entertainment there aside from the well-known drinking (I’m 100% not a drinker, but I’d still be extremely interested in seeing what it’s all about).

    What could we a good way of rewarding the people contributing? – I would definitely want to provide something to the contributors myself. I’m not entirely sure what I can offer to everyone, but I want to make sure everyone feels like they got something out of it, even if they don’t end up seeing me at the convention. The simplest things I can think up for the time being include photo prints and autographs that I wouldn’t mind generating, but I always get so embarrassed about things like that, like it feels so vain. Some people have requested things like that of me in the past, though, and if that’s something people want then I’d be willing to go to that length to provide it. Otherwise, any time I’ve ever received a direct donation from people, I always go out of my way to personally write back and thank them individually each time. I’m not sure what else to provide, and I feel like there’s something else I should be thinking of. If anybody else has any ideas, point them my way.

    Apologies again for being so delayed. I’ll do my best to be better about getting back to E-mails and messages. This should be much less of a problem these days now. I’m really sorry.

     

Leave a Reply

 
